On Air Now Paul Marsh 10:00am - 1:00pm Email

Key Dates For Pompey's 2023/24 Season

Fratton Park - Home of Portsmouth Football Club

Important dates for your diary as we begin to look ahead to Portsmouth Football Club's 125th Anniversary season and a 7th consecutive year in League One.

The Blues wrapped up their 2022/23 campaign by finishing in 8th position with 70 points, ending the season off the back of 11 matches unbeaten, concluding with a 2-2 draw with Wycombe Wanderers at Fratton Park.

Head coach John Mousinho will be targeting a busy transfer window alongside sporting director Rich Hughes, as the pair seek to recruit players with the proposed ability to fire Pompey out of the 3rd tier.

There is plenty to look forward to this summer as preparation begins for the new season - Here are some key dates to note ahead of the 2023/24 campaign:

  • TBC - 2023/24 Kit Reveal(s)
  • Wednesday, 14th June - Transfer Window Officially Opens
  • Thursday, 22nd June (9am) - Fixture Release Day
  • Sunday, 2nd July - Blues Fly to Spain for Pre-Season Camp
  • Thursday, 6th July (6:30pm) - Friendly - Europa FC (La Cala Resort, Mijas, Spain)
  • Tuesday, 11th July (7:45pm) - Friendly - Bognor Regis Town (A)
  • Friday, 14th July (7pm) - Friendly - Gosport Borough (A)
  • Saturday, 15th July (1pm) - Friendly - Havant & Waterlooville (A)
  • Tuesday, 25th July (7pm) - Friendly - AFC Wimbledon (A)
  • Saturday, 29th July (3pm) - Friendly - Bristol City (H)
  • Monday, 31st July (6pm) - The Football Hour returns on 93.7 Express FM - Available on Apple/Google Podcasts & Spotify too

Here are the key dates to be aware of regarding when certain league/cup competitions will take place during the 2023/24 season:

  • Friday, 4th August - First EFL fixture of the season (TBC) LIVE on Sky Sports
  • Saturday, 5th August - Opening day of the new League One season
  • W/c 7th August - Carabao Cup - Round 1
  • W/c 4th September - EFL Trophy - Group Match 1
  • Sunday, 25th February - Carabao Cup - Final
  • Sunday, 7th April - EFL Trophy - Final
  • Saturday, 18th May - League One Play-Off - Final
  • Sunday, 19th May - League Two Play-Off - Final
  • Sunday, 26th May - Championship Play-Off Final

If we have missed any dates that you feel are necessary to add, please feel free to comment below and let us know so we can add - Alternatively, Tweet using @ExpressFM and/or @JakePompeySmith.

We are already very excited to reign in the new season and provide coverage of Pompey's 2023/24 campaign!

Comments

Add a comment

Log in to the club or enter your details below.
Weather in Portsmouth
Thursday Light rain High 12°C   Low 6°C
Friday Light rain High 8°C   Low 3°C

Coming Up

  • Dan Lodge

    1:00pm - 3:00pm

    Great songs, Portsmouth people and good company.

  • Dave Joyce

    3:00pm - 6:00pm

    Getting you home with great songs, Portsmouth people, Tea at 3 and the Express Rewind Mystery Year.

Recently Played

Interviews

Listen to Express FM