Museums help beat Portsmouth summer holiday boredom

Families stuck for something to do over the holidays can try lots of events at Portsmouth museums, including children's activities, model displays and a craft fair.

Portsmouth City Council's museums, including Southsea Castle, Portsmouth Museum and Cumberland House natural history museum, are always great destinations for a day out.

But during the summer holidays there are special events aimed at preventing those 'I'm bored' moans. They're either free, or have a small admission fee. 

  • Tuesday 1 August, Southsea Castle: kings, queens and court jesters family craft activities.
  • Wednesday 2 August, Portsmouth Museum: Sherlock Holmes family craft activities.
  • Tuesday 8 August, Southsea Castle: Sandcastles and crabs family craft activities. 
  • Wednesday 9 August, Portsmouth Museum: Solent Meccano Club drop-in day for children and adults.
  • Wednesday 16 August, Portsmouth Museum: Model railway show plus historic vehicle.
  • Saturday 19 August, Cumberland House natural history museum: Southsea Wildlife Watch family activities.
  • Sunday 20 August, Southsea Castle: Keep Makers Market.
  • Wednesday 30 August, Portsmouth Museum. Scalextric displays in the activities room.

 Plus, there is going to be a pop-up D-Day Museum around Portsmouth this summer....

  • Tuesday 1 August – Capturing the Spirit event, Paulsgrove
  • Saturday 12 August – Portsea Carnival, John Pounds Centre
  • Saturday 26 and Sunday 27 August – Victorious Festival

More from Local News

Weather in Portsmouth
Saturday Low-level cloud High 22°C   Low 17°C
Sunday Sunny intervals High 22°C   Low 20°C

Podcasts

Listen to Express FM